The CFDA adds 12 new members

Translated by

Ana Ibanez

Posted on

Sep 13 2021

The Council of Fashion Designers of America announced last week the addition of 12 new members to the organization, bringing the total number to 452.


As part of their admission process for 2021, the new designers to join are Autumn Adeigbo from Autumn Adeigbo, Abrima Erwiah from Studio One Eighty Nine; Claudia Li, Christopher John Rogers, Hillary Taymour of Collina Strada, Jonathan Cohen, Kenneth Nicholson, LaQuan Smith, Marina Moscone, Mike Eckhaus and Zoe Latta of Eckhaus Latta, and Willy Chavarria.

All designers who had participated in CFDA programs and whose creativity is consistent with the Board of Directors, which was charged with leading the 2021 admissions process, were invited. The candidates were then officially chosen by the organization’s members. The incorporations come after one year, 2020, in which the CFDA decided not to add members to the organization.

“We are proud to have this group of designers as members,” said CFDA CEO Steven Kolb.

“Their diverse talents already contribute significantly to our industry and represent the future of American fashion, which they will undoubtedly help define,” he said.

As part of the announcement, the CFDA also introduced a new two-tier affiliate program. This is a new form of associate membership for current CFDA members who are up to date with their obligations to the organization but have not created a collection for three or more years.

In addition, the CFDA will also introduce the interim membership formula in October, which will serve as a path to becoming a CFDA member for emerging design brands. To be eligible, the designer must be in business for at least one year, but no more than five, with annual sales that cannot exceed $ 2 million.

The new membership levels are consistent with the CFDA’s goal of serving and supporting the varying needs of designers throughout their careers.

Copyright © 2021 All rights reserved.

Back to top button